My Little Universe

Why Growing Up Sucks

Why-Growing-Up-Sucks
At 23-years-old I’ve had at least 3 quarter life crises in my life. People have told me not to worry and that I’ve got my whole life ahead of me, but I can’t shake the feeling that all my best years are behind me. That’s right kids, after 19 it all goes downhill from here. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

I recently had a chat with the sweetest high school student. She had the audacity to tell me how lucky I was to be an adult, and how she couldn’t wait to graduate and start her life. I was like, baby girl I’m going to stop you right there. Growing up is a tough downhill struggle full of regret and bad choices. Okay, I’ll be the first to admit that this may not have been the best thing to say to an over energetic youth with only excitement and positivity in her eyes (poor thing). Suffice it to say, she didn’t take my advice well. Whoopsie.

I guess I’m just nostalgic for the good old days, when you don’t wake up at 5am everyday, when you organized your life based on which university party you were going to, when your job consisted of you standing in a mall and ignoring the world, and when you could party until 5am every night. Yea, that goes away. My hot nights out consist of me, my cat, and my couch. Good times guys.

I’m not handling this transition period well at all. It’s odd, because all I wanted was the freedom to be an adult. Well it looks like the jokes on me, because baby, this is what it means to be an adult. I think Scar from The Lion King had it right, life just isn’t far.

6 thoughts on “Why Growing Up Sucks

  1. Poem: “I Resign”

    I am hereby, officially, tendering my resignation as an adult. I have decided I would like to accept the responsibilities of an 8-year-old again.I want to go to McDonald’s and think it’s a four star restaurant.I want to think M&M’s are better than money because you can eat them.I want to return to a time when life was simple. When all you knew were colours, multiplication tables, and nursery rhymes, but that didn’t bother you because you didn’t know what you didn’t know, and you didn’t care.

    I want to be oblivious to the complexities of life and to be overly excited by the little things again.I don’t want my day to consist of computer crashes, mountains of paperwork, depressing news, how to survive more days in the month than there is money in the bank, doctor’s bills, gossip, illness, and loss of loved ones.

    So…
    Here’s my cheque-book, my car keys, my credit cards, and all my responsibilities. I am officially resigning from adulthood. And if you want to discuss it further, you’ll have to catch me first, ’cause…
    …Tag! You’re it.

    ~ author unknown

    Like

Leave a Reply

