My Little Universe

My Top 10 Favourite Song Covers

My iPod is a plethora of random music, with Alicia Keys, Lana Del Rey, Hans Zimmer, and even the occasional Disney tunes; it defintely has a mind of its own. Many people are surprised to find that my favourite genre of music to listen to is instrumental from film soundtracks. However, I digress, if there’s one thing I love, it’s listening to covers of certain songs, so I thought I’d do a list of my top 10 favourite covers.

1. Love is a Battlefield Cover by Raining Jane
I first heard this song when I saw The Other Woman in theaters, staring Cameron Diaz, Leslie Mann, Kate Upton, and Nikolaj Coster-Waldau (otherwise known as the King Slayer from Game of Thrones). Now I already loved this song, but hearing a slow version in a scene where these 2 woman are making the best out of the fact that they’ve been played by the same man was incredibly moving.

2. Wicked Games Cover by Coves
I used to read this book series called The Cousins’ War, but it kind of frustrated me to no end so I never progressed far. However, I heard that it was turned into a short mini series staring the sexy Max Irons, so I thought I’d check out the trailer. I never really got around to watching the show, but the trailer introduced me to this amazing cover! And I’ve been obsessed with it ever since.

3. Be My Baby Cover by Snowhill
I swear my favourite thing about the TV show Stalker is the covers they play at the end of each episode. This song is just wonderful, and it manages to incorporate all the emotions from the entire episode in its tone. Just breath taking.

4. Glee’s I Feel Pretty/Unpretty Cover by Lea Michelle and Dianna Argon
I am by no means a Glee fan, but I was and still am obsessed with this song. They mixed together West Side Story’s I Feel Pretty with TLC’s Unpretty and the result was magic. This scene outlines how one girl wants to get a nose job and be beautiful like the other, because when she looks at her all she feels is unpretty.

5. Back To Black Cover by Beyoncé and Andre 3000
Great Gatsby is one of my favourite books and the Baz Luhrmann film is one of my favourite movies. One of the multiple reasons for this is the music, now while some went on tangents about the use of rap in the film (cough cough, get over it) I thought everything was genius, and one of those magnificent songs was this cover to Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black. And in my opinion, it’s far better than the original.

6. Dirty Diana Cover by The Weeknd
The Weekend is one of my all time favourite artists! He can do no wrong in my eyes. Dirty Diana is actually my favourite Michael Jackson song and The Weeknd did a wonderful job reimagining it. Don’t believe me? Just listen. You’ll become a believer soon.

7. You’re The One That I Want Cover by Lo-Fang
I’ve already raved about this song when I first heard it in the Gisele Bundchen Chanel No5 campaign, but I’m willing to go through it again. This song has been getting a lot of hype ever since it’s debut, I even heard it playing on the hit TV show Stalker. Somehow this Grease favourite has an eerie tone to it, which I selfishly love!

8. I Knew You Were Trouble Cover by Walk Off The Earth
Although I love the original, this cover is probably the most unique one on my list. Walk Off The Earth began doing covers on Youtube before they got signed and had their first official single Red Hands. Arguable their cover of Somebody That I Used To Know is probably their biggest hit yet, but there’s something about them jamming to Swifty that I just love.

9. Come As You Are Cover by Masha
This song was used perfectly in the Witches of East End TV promo, and as far as covers go, I think it was very successful. This was one of those songs that grew on me, until it was constantly put on replay on my iPod.

10. Summertime Sadness Cover by Miley Cyrus
I’m more than a fan when it comes to Lana Del Rey, I honestly feel like her music is written for me and me alone. And although I am by no means a Miley Cyrus fan, I think she did a surprisingly good job with this cover. She may be weird and too much, but the girl can sing, I’ll give her that.

2 thoughts on “My Top 10 Favourite Song Covers

Leave a Reply

