My Little Universe

Another List of My Favourite Top 10 Cover Songs

I have what some could call an eccentric taste in music. Don’t be surprised if my iPod has Disney tunes, Vybz Kartel, and M83 all in one playlist. As I have already done a previous list of my my top 10 favourite song covers there were a lot of songs that didn’t make the cut. So I decided, why not do another list?

1. Wonderwall Cover by Ryan Adams
I looked this song up because I heard Ellen Degeneres mention on her show that she was obsessed with it. Once I listened to it I was forced to agree with her. And dare I say that I like the Ryan Adams version more than the original?

2. All Along The Watchtower Cover by Bear McCreary
One of my favourite TV shows of all time is Battlestar Galactica (the newer one). One of the greatest scenes in the entire series was when the final 5 were revealed and this song was playing in the background. It just set up the tone of shock, excitement and disbelieve perfectly. I mean, There must be some kind of way out of here.

3. Killing Me Softly With His Song Cover by The Fugees
I grew up listening to this song back in 1996 and actually didn’t realize that it was a cover. Apparently it was originally done by Roberta Flack in 1973. But I will always associate it with the musical talents of Lauryn Hill.

4. Dirt Off Your Shoulder/Bittersweet Symphony by The Verve and Jay Z
I’m not sure if this can technically be called a cover, but I’ve chosen to include it anyways. This is a mash up of Jay Zs Dirt Off Your Shoulder and The Verves one hit wonder Bittersweet Symphony. The result was magic.

5. Landslide Cover by The Dixie Chicks
Once upon a time Fleetwood Mac came out with the song Landslide and since then many have done covers of their song. From The Smashing Pumpkins to Miley Cyrus. However, for me the reigning champion will always be the Dixie Chicks.

6. Night in Paris by Reidiculous
Again, I’m pretty sure we can’t count this as a cover, but it’s my list and I’m doing it how I please! If you’ve never heard some of the tracks Reidiculous has put out I suggest you go on YouTube right now and educate yourself!

7. Heart Shaped Box Cover by Lana Del Rey
I swear it wouldn’t be a list without me mentioning Lana Del Rey at least once. I may be slightly bias on this one just because I don’t particularly like the original version of this song. I can’t help but put this on repeat, she’s just so amazing.

8. Hey Jude Cover by Joe Anderson
I know many people think that The Beatles are gods when it comes to music and that no one can ever successfully cover their songs, please don’t hate me, but I respectfully disagree. I’m not a Beatles fan (please forgive me Mom) and absolutely love this version of Hey Jude more than the original #SorryNotSorry.

9. 99 Problems Cover by Hugo
The lyrics may be slightly different but I’m considering this song a cover to Jay Zs 99 Problems. With more of a country vibe to contrast the originals gritty rap, this version may not be better than its predecessor but it’s something I jam to at the gym.

10. Royals Cover by Pentatonix
My sister introduced me to this band, and although I’m more of a Walk Off The Earth fan these guys are so talented! I didn’t think there could ever be a version of Royals that I liked as much as the original. But Pentatonix has proven me wrong.

3 thoughts on “Another List of My Favourite Top 10 Cover Songs

Leave a Reply

