My Little Universe

My Journey To Happiness, All I Can Say Is Never Settle

never-settle-for-happiness
When I was in university I had this image of what I wanted my life to be like and how I would go about achieving it. In my little universe I figured just by doing well in school I would automatically get a job out of university doing exactly what I wanted. I look back at my naive younger self and just shake my head…poor thing.

I didn’t realize that to get ahead you had to make connections, put yourself out there and participate in the world in ways that didn’t involve house parties or the gym. In my last year it dawned on me that I had no idea what I wanted to do with my life. I toyed with the idea of working in public relations for awhile there, but deep down I knew that it wasn’t right for me.

Ultimately I decided to do more school and enrolled in a post graduate program for media studies. I thought that was perfect as I loved my media classes and could see myself working in the digital realm. I even fancied myself working on Much or MTV one day #Not.

The program was not what I expected, it was all graphs, numbers and math. I was miserable, and although I loved my classmates, I went back and forth with the idea of dropping the program. The only thing that stopped me was that I knew if I dropped I’d be back at square one: lost, confused, and unemployed. I convinced myself that I could make this work and that something good would come out of this mess.

Enter the work field. I got a job working in the media as a broadcast buyer, and although the people were amazing and the perks of the job were pretty damn cool, I knew it wasn’t for me. I dedicated my time to finding something that I truly wanted, and after a couple months in media I realized that all I wanted to do was write. In university I was the happiest when we had to write essays, and during my postgrad whenever we had to create a story for our assignment I was always the first to write it.

I began looking at ways that I could write, work online, and combine my interests of pop culture (hence wanting to work at Much or MTV) and fashion. Low and behold I found the answer, working at a magazine! I realized this was everything I spend the past 5 years searching for and put all my energy into getting it. No way was I going to let this opportunity pass me by.

I was granted my wish when the digital editor at FASHION Magazine took a chance on me, and for that I will always be grateful to her. The editorial team was the best thing that ever happened to me, and although the job was difficult at times it was a dream come true. Now I write for a living and do freelance work!

It may have taken awhile but I’m on my way, and when I look back at myself all those years ago in university I must say that I do miss her. And if there’s one thing I could tell her now it would be to never settle and to always push for what you want.

One thought on “My Journey To Happiness, All I Can Say Is Never Settle

Leave a Reply

