My Little Universe

You Win Some And You Loose Some

You Win Some And You Loose Some
Back in high school, my best friend and I went through a phase where all we wanted to do was dance at the club. It became slightly addicting and definitely gained us some attention from our fellow classmates, whether it was positive or negative.

Our tale began in grade 11 and continued far into our university careers. We always went in a group of 3 girls, because ain’t nobody messing with my clique. But for some reason we could never keep the third girl with us for long, there was always some sort of drama that kept her from staying our bff forever.

Most recently, our last friend had some serious issues with us when she left our group, she even went as far as to delete be off of bbm (back when that was a thing) and send a pretty tough Facebook inbox message outlining how I was the worst friend.

At first I was beyond pissed, but now that I look back at the “breakup” I can see both perspectives. Her issue with us was that we were closer with each other than we were with her, which, was sadly true. She felt left out, so instead of mentioning this she decided to ignore us and spend all her time with her new boyfriend. And instead of me wondering why we didn’t talk as much, I just figured she was enjoying her new relationship and allowed weeks of silence between us. In retrospect, that was probably not the best idea.

This all happened when I was living away for university, so it wasn’t too odd that I didn’t speak to my girls everyday, but she was having none of it. She decided not to come out for my 21st birthday in Vegas which devastated me. But what was the worst was hearing her say I wasn’t there for her as a friend. Sure I was beginning to pull away from her, but she was once the most important person to me. I couldn’t imagine not having her around, so hearing that was a tough pill to swallow.

It’s always sad when you loose a close friend, but I guess that’s just a part of growing up. Will we ever be friends again? Absolutely not. But I wouldn’t trade our friendship for anything in the world. And I luckily still have my best friend with me, we’ve just decided to maybe stop trying to add a third musketeer to our group.

4 thoughts on “You Win Some And You Loose Some

Leave a Reply

