My Little Universe

DUFF: What Does It Really Mean Anyways?

duff-what-does-it-really-mean-anyways
To be honest, when I first heard about this DUFF film, I initially thought it looked stupid. Then I decided I would watch it because Robbie Amell’s in it and I was feeling nostalgic for the good old days of when the show The Tomorrow People was still on TV. And now, I downright want to watch it because I’m slightly afraid that I may be the DUFF in my group of friends…like actually.

What does DUFF mean? Designated Ugly Fat Friend. Yep, that’s a thing, and it’s me; insert sad face here.

duff-what-does-it-really-mean-anywaysSo I think its common knowledge that when you look for a friend it’s almost like you’re looking for a relationship. Personality, loyalty, and sadly looks. People always says that groups of hot people travel around together, and while I tend to agree with that, you can also spot the one person that’s not as blessed in the looks category as the others. Now that’s not to say that they’re ugly, because they’re not, it just means that in a group of people like Megan Fox, Halle Berry, and Jennifer Lawrence’s there’s that one girl who doesn’t look like a movie star. Because we all know that with every Kim Kardashian there’s a Khloe.

Now here’s the thing, in my mind, Khloe is waaaaaay better than Kim, and that’s mostly because of her personality. Between the two she’s the one I’d rather hang out with (if I had to hang out with them at all), she seems more relatable, is hilarious, and often speaks her mind – which I can appreciate.

duff-what-does-it-really-mean-anywaysThis is where the DUFF comes in, we are the “fun friends”, the ones that are always “there to listen”, the ones you can “always trust”, the “loyal friends”. And why is that? Because they secretly know that we’ll never steal their boyfriends, because we’re unfortunately not hot enough in societies mind.

In the upcoming film DUFF, Mae Whitman plays the DUFF character, who is neither fat nor ugly, she’s just a normal girl, which furthers my point. Being the DUFF friend doesn’t necessarily mean you’re fat or ugly, unfortunately you’re just the inadequate friend that doesn’t live up to societies standards of what it means to be “beautiful”. I’m sorry we can’t all look like Megan Fox, but to be honest, I’d rather be Khloe than Kim any day. #SorryNotSorry

Are you a DUFF and proud?

4 thoughts on “DUFF: What Does It Really Mean Anyways?

Leave a Reply

