Nerdgasm

My Avengers: Age of Ultron Review. P.S Obvious Spoilers Ahead

avengers-age-of-ultron-review

It took me awhile, but I finally saw The Avengers: Age of Ultron over the weekend, and it was (sadly) less than perfect. So let’s dig into the good, the bad, the gritty, and what I think this means for future films.

The Good

The thing I was most excited about was Vision, he is one of my fave characters in Marvels universe. And what’s more is that I actually like him better than his original DC counterpart Dr. Fate (because we all know that almost all Marvels characters are copies from DC originals).

Vision was everything he needed to be: kind, powerful, and just plain perfect. The best part in the entire film was when he picked up Thor’s hammer and everyone silently freaked out. After that, there was no question that Vision could be trusted. I’m just worried that Thanos is going to try and kill him in Avengers: Infinity Wars Part 1&2 since he’s got an Infinity stone attached to his head…

avengers-age-of-ultron-reviewI also really enjoyed the twins, especially Elizabeth Olsen as Scarlet Witch. When Quicksilver died and she screamed in pain, I felt horrible for her. But the best was (once again), Vision saving her. I was ecstatic since (if you don’t know) those two end up married in the comic!

Also Hawkeye finally became important. His lack of importance was one of my biggest pet peeves in the last film, so I’m glad that when Scarlet Witch tried to use mind control on him he was like NOPE! Been there, done that, not today bitch! I’m paraphrasing, but you get the idea. Not to mention his pep talk he gave Scarlet Witch on how nothing made sense, but that they were The Avengers.

The Bad

Why were The Hulk and Black Widow a thing? Just no. This came out of nowhere and I was not down for their shenanigans. I especially hated that she was the only one who could calm Bruce down and change him back. Excuse me, but that’s Betty Ross’s job.

avengers-age-of-ultron-review

I didn’t enjoy Ultron’s humor, it seemed out of place and almost forced. I thought they were trying too hard to make Ultron similar to Tony Stark (who the world’s obsessed with because Robert Downey Jr. plays him so well). Because of that, I didn’t find Ultron as a menacing villain. For example, when he blew off Smeagol Andy Serkis’s arm, he immediately started to apologize!

The clip after the credits showed Thanos grab his infinity gauntlet (which eventually needs to hold all the infinity stones) and say I’ll do it myself. This makes no sense to put at the end of this film, which has absolutely nothing to do with Thanos. Maybe at the end of the first Avengers or in Guardians of the Galaxy, where he had henchmen (Lookie and Ronan) doing his dirty work, but not this one. As far as we’re concerned, Thanos has no idea who Ultron was or what he was planning on doing.

The Gritty

It was interesting seeing a bit of Black Widow’s past, because by all accounts all we knew about her was that she was a trained assassin from childhood, got into trouble, and now works for S.H.I.E.L.D. Learning about her training process and that they “sterilized” her was a nice touch, albeit sad.

avengers-age-of-ultron-review

Technically, Tony Stark’s the only character that went up into space and saw the entire alien army from the last film. And since he spent most of Iron Man 3 haunted, it makes sense that he’s worried about the fate of the world and the lives of his friends. All he wanted was to keep the world save, which ultimately leads to him to creating Ultron (whoopsie).

I enjoyed seeing the inner turmoil boil up inside of him. And I think it’s interesting that this never got resolved, so I’m sure we’ll be seeing more of this in the future. Speaking of…

The Future

Bonus! We got a glimpse of Ulysses Klaw (Andy Serkis), who I’m sure will become more important for the Black Panther film set for 2018. Although that was a nice touch, I think this film got lost in itself trying to include multiple build-ups for upcoming films in Marvel’s phase 3.

avengers-age-of-ultron-review

Tony creating Ultron will give the government the okay to investigate into the Avengers, which will ultimately lead to Captain America: Civil War, where (if they follow the comic) we’ll see Iron Man and Cap fighting on opposite sides for the Superhero Registration Act.

Thor was off bathing in a river and saw visions of the infinity stones and future death/war on Asgard, which sets up Thor 3: Ragnarok nicely.

I’m mostly concerned with all the characters that have been introduced. Is there seriously enough room for them all? I’m assuming that The Avengers: Infinity Wars Part 1&2 is going to include the new Spider Man, all the avengers (plus the new ones added at the end of Age of Ultron), and the Guardians of the Galaxy. Not to mention Doctor Strange, Captain Marvel, and Blank Panther. That’s a lot of manpower, characters are going to get lost a long the way…and/or die.

The Verdict

While I had fun with this movie and was thoroughly entertained through and through, The Avengers: Age of Ultron can’t hold a candle to the first one. And although I could talk about Vision all day long, one epic character (that isn’t even born until closer to the end of the film) doesn’t make up for a lacking villain, stupid romantic plot, and making us see (once again) that Tony Stark has to fight off versions of “bad iron men”.

I hate to say it, but I’ve seen it all before. Ultron was just a snobby robot with a daddy complex that had to have a time out in the corner.

What did you think of The Avengers: Age of Ultron?

13 thoughts on “My Avengers: Age of Ultron Review. P.S Obvious Spoilers Ahead

  1. I think the after credits scene actually worked really well. There was a stone in Loki’s scepter, which Thanos, through a proxy, gave him. So really he was saying that the mind stone — the one that Vision now has — didn’t do its job for him. It’s his turn to collect the stones now.

    I agree about Black Widow and Hulk, though. Completely out of left field and didn’t make any sense. I’d like to know where Betty is, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

