My Little Universe

My No Carb Diet Cleanse

diet-no-carbs

One year ago, I took upon myself to try and loose some weight. A friend of mine looked absolutely amazing and lost loads of weight just by cutting out carbs! I told myself I was going to give it a try, however, it wasn’t as simple as it seemed.

It took me a little while to fully commit to this change. After chatting with my friend (who still looks bomb btw) I realized just how much I would be giving up: pizza, pasta, rice, all fast food, chips, candy, potatoes, cereal…pretty much everything on the planet. This looming idea held a dark cloud over my head for a while, but I was determined to make this work.

diet-no-carbs

I told myself I’d try for 4 months (aka the summer) just to see how it went. Enter the world of meal prep. I had to prepare my breakfast and lunch to bring with me everyday to work so that I wouldn’t get the urge to buy something I couldn’t eat. I began walking with food everywhere, because I was constantly hungry.

Cutting out all the heavy foods made me starving every hour, and I had to have food with me because there weren’t many places I could buy a meal without any carbs. Here’s what a typical day would consist of for me:

Breakfast 7am: 2 hard boil eggs and half a grapefruit
Snack 11am: a banana
Snack 12:30pm: 2 oranges and other half of grapefruit
Lunch 1:30pm: cucumbers, celery sticks, and carrots
Snack 3pm: apple
Snack 5pm: mixed greens or a salad
Dinner 7pm: boiled veggies, chicken breast and quinoa
Snack 9pm: water and various fruits

Unfortunately, I had to prepare all of these meals the night before (except of course my dinner which I would cook the day of). The first 3 weeks were the hardest, I was constantly hungry and therefore cranky; I was annoyed with having to meal prep and I wanted to punch everyone on the subway in the face for eating croissants for breakfast in the morning.

diet-no-carbs

However, like everything, you get used to routine. And I actually began to enjoyed myself. I used to look forward to my plate of veggies while my family had a big bowl of pasta. The only downside here was that I was beginning to judge people around me for eating carbs, and that was worrisome.

I began looking at food as the enemy, so after 5 to 6ish months and a couple of pant sizes down, I stopped. However, I found I couldn’t really give it up. I still meal prep and still hardly ever have carbs. If I have some, it’ll only be once in awhile.

I believe everything’s good in moderation, I love that I’m thinner, but it’s all about doing it in a healthy way. And I mean healthy in a physical and mental way. I balance my eating habits with going to the gym, and if I want that bowl of mashed potatoes I’ll eat it! I just won’t indulge in any more carbs for the week.

Yes it sounds like a lot of work, but trust me, if I can do it so can you. And I only had to travel with so much food because my workdays are so long. For example, if you start at 9 and finish at 3, you can take out half of my meal plan!

From personal experience, I can tell you that this works, but you’ve got to have some serious will power. Just say no!

Do you think you’ll ever go on a no carb cleanse?

3 thoughts on “My No Carb Diet Cleanse

Leave a Reply

