My Little Universe

To Travel Or Not To Travel: A Case of The Travel Bug

A-Case-of-the-Travel-Bug

I’m not sure why, but it feels like every time I turn my head, someone else that I know is off on some new travel adventure while I’m just sitting here, working day-to-day in an office. Is it possible that I’ve got a taste of the travel bug?

A-Case-of-the-Travel-BugGrowing up I never imagined that my life would turn out this way. I did all the right steps, so why do I feel so far behind? I went straight to university after high school, got good grades, had a job, and made ever lasting friendships. When I graduated I continued my education that landed me some internships and a job. All of a sudden I’m working 9-5, getting paid, and doing what I love. So why isn’t that enough?

My sister went to Korea for a year to gain some more independence and escape our parents. Don’t get me wrong, we love them to death, buuuuut they may just drive us to death by being so annoying. There comes a time when you’ve got to leave the nest. The only problem is that we both did, but had to come back. If you walk away with anything from this please walk away with this: if you move out NEVER COME BACK.

A-Case-of-the-Travel-BugMy best friend went to Australia and is now traveling all over Europe. Another friend went to London for a year, another one is in Korea, another is studying in the States, and another got an amazing job in Detroit.

I never saw myself as having the travel bug. To be honest, the only places I’ve ever really wanted to go to are London and Venice (which all my friends have conveniently gone to without me), but now I feel like I’m wasting my youth away. Isn’t now the time that I should be living my life? Shouldn’t I go out and have fun while I’m still young?

A-Case-of-the-Travel-BugSo why don’t I you ask? Fear. The industry that I work in is so hard to break into, and I’ve finally got my foot in the door. I’m afraid if I pack up and leave now, I’ll have lost my career forever. I also don’t think I could go away by myself, I’d want someone there with me, but I’ve lost that opportunity as all my friends are gone now, when they come back they won’t have the funds to pack up and go again.

And this leaves me with my final excuse point, money. I’m trying to move out of my parents house at any cost. All the money I’ve got saved (which sadly isn’t much) is going towards my escape plan. If I spent that on this trip (to who knows where), when I come back I would be right back to square one: poor and living with my parents. Except this time I’d be unemployed and older….

Are these all excuses because I’m too afraid to take a chance? Probably. My whole life I’ve had a set plan, and I just assumed if I did everything the “right way” then I’d be rewarded with a wonderful job, my own place, and a booming social life. Well 1/3 ain’t that bad right?

So where do I go from here? I’m actually genuinely lost. HELP!

A-Case-of-the-Travel-Bug

28 thoughts on “To Travel Or Not To Travel: A Case of The Travel Bug

  1. I agree with the other comment that said, take some vacation time, and travel somewhere. It doesn’t have to be anything major. Don’t get caught up in keeping up with everyone around you. Choose a spot that you and a friend or two can afford and go. There is so much to see that can’t be seen from the cubicle. Also, do you love your job, or is it that you feel the industry is solid and secure? I quit my job in the oil and gas industry to pursue my dreams of working with children. I’ve never looked back. It was a pay cut, but I LOVE what I do now, and it has afforded me more time to travel. Good luck with your decision!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I really appreciate hearing from you. I agree that it almost feels like I want to keep up with everyone else around me. My friend and I are looking into going on a small trip at the end of the year, I really hope it works out πŸ™‚ As for my job, I absolutely enjoy it, but I don’t know if I can honestly say I’m in love with it just yet! Who knows what else is out there right? I feel like I’m missing a piece of the puzzle.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Definitely check out nomadic matt! search him in google. He honestly has such great advice about solo travels and dealing with fear. trust me, his emails are a breathe of fresh air when thinking about the pros and cons of travel! Good luck xxx

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Anytime! I’ve been contemplating solo travel and he totally recommended a book written by a girl who does it often, I’ve forgotten her name but if you email him I’m sure he will get you onto it! πŸ™‚ x

        Like

Leave a Reply

