My Little Universe

So I Want To Get A Tattoo

I’ve been seriously considering this for awhile now, and I think I’m finally ready to take that step.

When I was 14 years old and in grade 9, I told my parents that I either wanted to get a tattoo or get my belly button pierced. My dad freaked and said he didn’t want me to get a tattoo, that he couldn’t imagine his baby girl being “one of those girls that tats their body up”. He believed that once I started I wouldn’t be able to stop. Therefore, his vote was on the belly button ring.

My mother didn’t really care which I got, just as long as I waited until I turned 16. This was an acceptable proposition for me, so I waited. She believed that I’d forget or eventually grow out of it, but sure enough, on my 16th birthday I reminded her of my deal! We made a day out of it, me, my sister, my mother, and my father all went with my to get my piercing.

Now, almost a decade later, I still want that tattoo. I began by telling my sister, then told my mom (I haven’t told my dad yet, he’s going to be so mad, yikes!). She was surprised to find that I still wanted it, and asked why it was so important. This was a hard one to explain, but I needed her to understand

why-i-want-to-get-a-tattooI want 2 tattoos, and that’s all. The first one I want to be on my wrists. It’s a quote, one that became extremely important to me in Lana Del Rey’s song Ride: Live fast. Die young. Be wild. And have fun. This is something I’ve become somewhat obsessed with, I just want to live my life to the fullest. I never take chances, I’ve always done what I was told and what was considered to be “right”. I went from school, to more school, to more school, to an internship, and then to a job. All because I thought that’s what I was supposed to do.

No more, now I’ve got to live how I want to! Travel, explore, pick a career that I love, do everything on my bucket list. It’s time. And I want this quote on my wrists to remind me of what’s really important in life. I find that there’s a huge a difference between living and being alive.

My second tattoo follows more of my nerdy side. I want to get the word Always with the sign of the Death Hallows in the shape of the ‘A’ from Harry Potter. I grew up reading those books, when I was 11, they were the same age. When they began dating and getting crushes, so did I; the books are a serious part of my life. They helped me disappear into a world that I could never have dreamed of. For me, Harry Potter is life.

The Death Hallows consists of the Elder Wand (most powerful wand), the Resurrection Stone (brings people back from the dead), and the Invisibility Cloak (I think that’s pretty self explanatory). Together, they are the master of death. So what’s so important about the word Always? Simple. When Professor Snape was asked if he still loved Lily after all this time, and if that was the driving force for why he continued to protect Harry, all he replied was Always. This was an iconic moment in the book, and it brought everything into perspective for me.

Love is the true master of death. Lily’s love for her son Harry, Harry’s love for everyone (allowing him to sacrifice himself), Dumbledore’s love for Harry and Grindelwald, Snape’s love for Lily, and Voldemort’s love for power. It all connects. And it’s what J.K Rowling said from day one in the first book, love is the most powerful weapon. It can destroy or protect. Always.

why-i-want-to-get-a-tattoo

11 thoughts on “So I Want To Get A Tattoo

Leave a Reply

