Lights, Camera, Action

Top 10: Best TV Show Title Sequence Openings

A great title sequence hints at the shows context and keeps you begging for more. I’ve decided to dig into those TV intros that did just that for me.

10. One Tree Hill


One Tree Hill holds a special place in my heart, and it’s mainly on this list because every time I hear this theme song I get warm fuzzy feelings in my heart. Never was their a love triangle more epic, annoying, and/or intense as with Peyton, Lucas, and Brooke (except maybe in Dawson’s Creek). I love this opening because it brings back all the good memories that came along with watching the show. Season 3 will forever be my favourite title sequence!

9. Bleach


Bleach is probably one of my fave anime’s out there (with the exception of Sailor Moon of course). I was a fan of the show up until Season 2 when I became instantly hooked! Every so often, the title sequence changes to reflect what’s occurring in the show, and while I do love season 2’s opening, it’s season 9 that stole the number one spot in my life. I love that it shows all the captains and their lieutenants as they prepare to fight.

8. Daredevil


I was pleasantly surprised with how much I enjoyed Daredevil! He’s a gritty character that deserves a gritty take on his story. And while he may be one of the only superheroes that could potentially stand up to Batman, I’m enjoying watching his story from the beginning. This title sequence is dark, borderline disturbing, and reminds us just how violent and bloody the show is willing to go. It touches on all the key points this Netflix original wants to concentrate on: blood, his city Hell’s Kitchen, the law, and justice.

7. American Horror Story


I never thought that I’d enjoy this show, but I got hooked on it two years ago when my sister and I binge watched the first season. And while I wasn’t a big fan of Freak Show, Murder House and Asylum were exceptional. The best thing about this title sequence was that it gave you chills but still forced you to want more. Each title sequence drops hints on what each season will cover. It’s only once you’ve finished the show that you can connect all the dots the opening gave you. I love Asylum’s opening the best because it had so much imagery and creepy innuendos around every corner.

6. Suits


This show is on my list purely for the fact that I’m OBSESSED with the theme song! I’ve gotten so much amazing music from this show, that whenever I hear this title sequence begin, I can’t help but smile.

5. Game of Thrones


This intro literally creates the entire world of Westeros! It allows you to see where each character is, what’s around them, and the places and cities that will become important in each season. Plus, the music is just so freaking bad ass!

4. Teen Wolf


I love that each season changes based on the new evil that they have to face! I love that each persons’ intro is designed specific to who (or what) they are, and I love how overwhelmingly happy I get whenever I hear the music come on. Season 3 is my fave season thus far, so it wins the crown for best title sequence. Now if you’d please excuse me, I think I hear my fandom calling me! Cue the music

3. The Walking Dead


What’s so amazing about this title sequence is that it subtly drops hints on what’s to come for each season! And while this is a show about a group of survivors during a zombie apocalypse, it’s mainly a study on humanity at it’s lowest, and shows us just how far they’ll go to survive.

2. Sons of Anarchy


This title sequence is so original and well done that it almost stole my top spot! The fact that it introduces each character based on their tattoos was ingenious. Not only do we get to see some serious ink, but the more you watch the show, the more you realize that you’re learning valuable information about the characters from their tats. For example Gemma’s genetic heart disorder, which you can see the scar next to her tattoo; Tara’s rose tattoo which reminds us that she was once a part of their life; and of course Jax’s tattoo of the Sons on his back – showing the overwhelming presence that the club has on his life. An issue he struggles with until the end.

1. The Shannara Chronicles


This is very new show, and while it doesn’t have the best acting in the world I’m a huge fan of it! This stole my number one spot mainly because the sequence features the amazing talent of Ruelle (who I’m a HUGE fan of)! The Shannara Chronicles takes place in the distant future where elves and magic are just around the corner. If you haven’t started to watch it already, you should. Aside from the mediocre acting, trust me, you won’t be disappointed.

Do you agree with my list? Which TV show title sequence openings are your favourites?

4 thoughts on “Top 10: Best TV Show Title Sequence Openings

Leave a Reply

