Nerdgasm

Why Vikings Is My New Fave Show

Earlier, I made a post about TV shows that I really wanted to watch, and I finally got around to watching a couple of them. One stand out is Vikings. Literally. The. Best. Show.

Vikings is an original series on the HISTORY channel that depicts the story of Ragnar Lothbrok and the rise of his power and famous children. Ragnor is one of the best-known legendary Norse heroes notoriously known for his raids in England and France.

The show outlines his family and political drama that goes along with being king. It reminds me of a mixture of Game of Thrones, The Tudors, with a hint of the violence from Spartacus. So yea, it’s basically perfect.

And what I love the most about it are the women. There’s nothing short of bad ass. Especially his wife Lagertha, she gives me such #goals. I actually love her so much, and I’m going to outline all the reasons below, so SPOILER ALERT. You’ve been warned.

4. Princess Gisla

why-i-am-obsessed-with-tv-show-vikings-04
When I first met this character, I didn’t like her, and it honestly has nothing to do with her character but how the actress that plays her talked. I found her French accent to be annoying, and couldn’t get over it, at least at first. Once her and Rollo got married I began to enjoy her little by little. I like how strong she is, how much she cares for her country, and how she’s guided so heavily by her faith and her morals. I’m not finished the fourth season yet, but so far so good with her character.

3. Helga

why-i-am-obsessed-with-tv-show-vikings-03
At first I had no opinion on Helga, she was just the chick who was with Floki (one of my least favourite characters). But as the seasons have gone on, she’s become one of my favourite gals. Mainly just because she’s so kind, forgiving, and an overall wonderful person. She’s way too good for Floki, and seems to genuinely care about her friends and the people around her. She was devastated when she found out that Floki killed Athelstan and upset when she lost her friend Siggy. Helga is a calming and kind presence in a world full of brutality and death.

2. Princess Kwenthrith

why-i-am-obsessed-with-tv-show-vikings-02
This lady is hilarious. She does what she wants, when she wants, and how she wants. I love that, as a woman, she takes control of things by any means necessary, especially in British society where women were considered property. She’s a hilarious character that made season of Vikings one of my favourites.

1. Lagertha

why-i-am-obsessed-with-tv-show-vikings-01
Lagertha is a Viking shield maiden and overall badass. When Ragnar cheats on her and has his pregnant side chick come stay with them in their home, Lagertha does the only sensible thing that a woman should do in that situation. She leaves him and takes her son (who I love) with her. While she still has feelings for him, she always thinks of herself as his equal, and demands to be treated as such. In my opinion, she’s way too good for homeboy anyhow. Even though I secretly kinds, sorta want them to be together…like just a little bit.

Of course there are other Vikings characters that I love like Athelstan and Bjorn. And there are characters I hate like Aslaug, but I just had to pay tribute to these lovely ladies that simply steal the show.

4 thoughts on “Why Vikings Is My New Fave Show

Leave a Reply

