My Little Universe

How I Still Relate To Teens Even In My Twenties

I’m in my mid twenties and in no way shape or form feel like it. It’s odd, because sometimes when I’m around teenagers and kids (which thankfully isn’t that often) I feel an overwhelming sense of being old. And then other times when I hear them talk (because I creepily listen on the subway) about boys, life, or whatever I totally get them.

Hearing kids talk about dating and love, it’s honestly the same as when my friends do. Pretty much all ladies fall for a guy, they screw up, we get devastated. This is a tale as old as time. It’s when kids start to talk about how excited they are to grow up or what they’re expectations are on life that we differ completely. If there’s one piece of advice I can give kids it’s that nothing – I repeat – nothing is ever as it seems. Life is tough kiddies.

Then there’s of course beauty standards. They were incredibly different when I was a kid. Nowadays I see 12 year olds wearing more makeup than my friends. It’s like everyone wants to look like a Kardashian. When I was in elementary school it was all about having fun, not about how tight your clothes are or what mascara you’re wearing. It actually terrifies me. Kids terrify me.

But, there is one thing we have in common. And that’s my guilty pleasure of loving to read teen novels. I just can’t help it. They’re so freaking addicting! So kids, I’m right there with you when it comes to those pesky love triangles, fantasy worlds, and a teenage heroine to route for. I actually can’t get enough.

Below are my top 10 favourite teen novels. Do you find teen drama’s as addicting as I do?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “How I Still Relate To Teens Even In My Twenties

Leave a Reply

