Lights, Camera, Action

Alicia Keys Is So Done With The Makeup Obsession

So I’ve got a bone to pick with society, and it looks like Alicia Keys does as well.

In this day and age, female beauty is defined by how much makeup you wear or how on point your contour is. And this is something that has been driving me insane. Why is it, that as a woman, putting on a mask of makeup is a necessity? Now, I don’t wear makeup, but I don’t judge people that do. If it makes you feel better, have at it! If you’re like me and you can’t be bothered than good for you girl! But what I can’t stand is that moment when you realize that to fit in or be thought of as beautiful, you have to cover up to be a bit closer to perfect.

The idea that you have to act a certain way, look a certain way, of do certain things in order to be seen as “beautiful” in society is something that Alicia Keys has had enough of. She no longer wants to be defined by these social restrictions. And I can’t get behind her enough!

She wrote an open letter on Cosmo about her constant battle with feminine beauty standards, saying: “Before I started my new album, I wrote a list of all the things that I was sick of. And one was how much women are brainwashed into feeling like we have to be skinny, or sexy, or desirable, or perfect. One of the many things I was tired of was the constant judgment of women. The constant stereotyping through every medium that makes us feel like being a normal size is not normal, and heaven forbid if you’re plus-size. Or the constant message that being sexy means being naked”. She took things one step further in her song When a Girl Can’t Be Herself with lyrics such as,

In the morning from the minute that I wake up
What if I don’t want to put on all that makeup
Who says I must conceal what I’m made of
Maybe all this Maybelline is covering my self-esteem

She goes on to say how she began to feel ugly without makeup, worrying if people would take her picture,  what would happen if they saw her face. Her real face.

All this changed when Keys was shot by photographer Paola for the cover of her new album, featuring her straight from the gym with a scarf under a baseball cap and makeup free. The image is raw and powerful, just as I’m sure her album will be.

Alicia Keys. Thank you.

Click here to read the full Cosmo article

5 thoughts on “Alicia Keys Is So Done With The Makeup Obsession

Leave a Reply

