My Little Universe

Why I Won’t Get Snapchat

I’m sorry my friends, but it’s going to be a no for me.

In this day and age where social media has completely taken over our lives, I’m here to tell you all that I’m sick of it. Now, that’s not say that I don’t enjoy a good Insta here and there, and can’t be found going on a liking spree on Facebook or retweeting my little hearts desire away on Twitter. But, for the most part, I’m just not a fan of social media.

So when my friends lay me down and made me get a snapchat, I was hella against it. I had it all of one day, and then deleted it. I’m not sure I get the point. I’m honestly not a very interesting person, and since I only Instagram like once a week (if I’m lucky), why would I send people snaps multiple times a day? And what would I even send? Me at work. Me with a random dog filter. Me eating. Me sleeping…doesn’t sound very enticing does it?

Then there’s the selfie issue. I don’t know if it’s because I was late to the whole social media game (I got Facebook when I was in grade 11…whoopsie), if it’s because I’m apparently not a real girl and am too lazy to wear makeup, or what, but I have never taken a selfie in my life. And, if I’m being honest, I probably never will. Why am I so weird? I dunno, maybe it’s because I don’t have a “sexy look” that women seem obliged to make in their selfies. Or maybe it’s because I’m always too busy taking the group shots to be in them. Or maybe, just maybe it’s because I’m not about to jump on the band wagon of societies obsession with themselves. Honestly, who can say at this point?

All I know is that I’m so tired of the next big social media thing. People get crazy obsessed with the newest app that allows them to focus all the attention on one thing and one thing only. Can you guess what that is?

Now I’m not saying attention is a bad thing. On the contrary, I love the attention. I often fantasize about my wedding day because I know it’ll be the one day in my life where the world revolves around me (I know, I’m such a romantic right?). So I’m guilty of attention seeking as well; realistically, isn’t everyone?

I just feel like we’ve gone too far. No one lives in the now! When I go out with my friends, I swear we’ll all be sitting around the table not talking. Why you ask? Because they’ll be on their phones. Posting images. Of themselves. It drives me nuts! Cause then I’m just wondering why we’re even hanging out? If you wanted to spend some quality time with yourself, then I’d like to introduce you to a mirror. Enjoy it, go out for drinks with it, spend all your time with it. I mean, we may as well just do that at the rate we’re going.

Okay guys, rant over! Is this just me being a dramatic attention seeker? Or do you think I may have a point?

One thought on “Why I Won’t Get Snapchat

Leave a Reply

