Nerdgasm

All The Comic Con Trailers I Geeked Out To

This is honestly my favourite time of the year, and that’s because of Comic Con – a magical time in my life that allows me to geek out hard with fellow like-minded nerds.

Instead of doing a separate post for each trailer, I thought I’d break down the ones that stood out to me all in one shot. Of course there will be a few that I won’t discuss (i.e Doctor Strange) but that’s simply because they did nothing for me or I just didn’t have anything to say. Ps, there are some serious spoilers below! You’ve been warned.

The Defenders


Step aside Avengers, The Defenders are here! And while this trailer doesn’t give much away (except for Stick’s condescending disapproval of what The Defenders hopes to accomplish), it does announce that New York’s going to have some new saviours in Daredevil, Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and Iron Fist. Netflix has done such an amazing job at making these Marvel characters so gritty and so believable, that I’m incredibly excited to see what this mini series will bring to the table. And while Jessica Jones, Luke Cage and presumably Iron Fist are all connected, I can’t wait to watch how Daredevil will be introduced to the gang.

Luke Cage


And speaking of Luke Cage…I must admit that I originally had mixed feelings about this show. While I was absolutely obsessed with Jessica Jones, I don’t care much for the character of Luke Cage. His powers are pretty cool, but I wasn’t too invested in him enough to be excited that he gained his own standalone show. That being said, I was immediately hooked when ODB’s Shimmy Shimmy Ya began playing, and the trailer practically took over my universe. I was obviously going to watch this show in preparation for The Defenders, but now I’m actually excited to see what they’re going to bring to the table.

Teen Wolf


Ah Teen Wolf, a show that I surprisingly fell in love with. Sadly, this will be the final season for the show and it looks like they’re pulling out all the stops. With a show that seems to be a revolving door of characters, I guess it was only a matter of time until they decided to put an end to it (here’s hoping that every single character gets brought back for at least a cameo this season). The stakes are the highest they’ve ever been as the legend of the Wild Hunt comes to Beacon Hills to erase people from existence. And who do they set their eyes on? None other but everyone’s fave character Stiles, played by Dylan O’Brien. Unfortunately it looks like Lydia and Stiles may get together this season (that is if they don’t kill Stiles). I know the world is routing for them, but I’m not. I’ve always been a fan of Stiles and Malia. Please oh please make them a couple again and let Lydia be with Deputy Jordan Parrish.

The Walking Dead


Good Lord, where do I even begin with this? The Walking Dead is one of my favourite shows on TV right now. And last seasons finale left us all in shambles when Negan was terrifyingly plotting someone’s death. Will it be Glenn as the graphic novel lay out (most likely)? Will it be Abraham because he’s realistically the only one who can take the beating and is supposed to have died already? Who????? Not only does this trailer manage to show us a lot without revealing anything, it also features the amazing talents of Ruelle (one of my favourite artists out there right now). We’re introduced to new characters and locations such as The Kingdom and The Sanctuary. Paul Monroe aka Jesus looks so badass in this trailer, Negan is clearly going to be the most menacing villain yet, and oh yea, there’s a tiger. #NBD

Justice League


Sigh. Poor, poor DC. For those of you that don’t know, I’m a DC girl through and through. I believe that they’re far superior to Marvel in all things except for the films (not including the Dark Knight Trilogy) and The X-Men – because, let’s face it, they’re perfect. Sadly, this trailer looks like the film will be much like it’s predecessor Batman v Superman, a hot mess that’s nothing if not a let down (here’s hoping I’ll be wrong!). Somehow, they’ve transformed Batman from being a loner who reluctantly joined the Justice League to the initiator. He’s become Nick Fury from The Avengers…why? And while the face for the Justice League is nowhere to be seen (Superman where you at?) Aquaman looks BADASS (as I predict here). This is going to be a rough ride guys. At least we still have Suicide Squad to look forward to.

Wonder Woman


Sigh. This movie. After writing my open letter to Gal Gadot on the issues with her playing Wonder Woman (most of which I blame on Hollywood and societies misconception of beauty being associated with one specific size) I really wanted to give this film a chance. I wanted to be excited and like it, especially with Chris Pine and Robin Wright being in it. Sadly, it looks mediocre at best. I won’t lie, I almost wanted to tear up a bit at the fact that they’ve taken one of my childhood heroes and ruined her. The dialogue looks forced, the action unbelievable and staged…everything’s wrong. I’m disappointed to say the least. Ah well, at least the graphics look good right?

Fantastic Beasts And Where To Find Them


HARRY POTTER! Okay, maybe not quite, but whatever it’s close enough. As a massive Potterhead (and proud thank you very much) I just about died and went to Heaven when I heard they were making a film adaptation of the J.K Rowling novel of the same title. And rightly so, after the insanely successful Harry Potter films. The first trailer treated us to the excitement of re-entering the wizarding world of Harry Potter, this trailer gives us a bit more context of the main plot point: man vs animal. And while the story takes place in America instead of London, it still has the vibe of the original films. I’m excited to fall in love with the characters all over again. Plus, the film features amazingly talented actors such as Oscar winner and nominee Eddie Redmayne, Ezra Miller (who’s been cast as The Flash), Colin Farrell and Jon Voight. At the end of the film we’re treated with the cutest quote ever, “I want to be a wizard”, trust me, we all do my friend.

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword


Jax Teller is back at it again! I actually rather enjoyed this trailer as it was a surprisingly breath of fresh air on the overdone story of King Arthur. The gorgeous Charlie Hunnam plays Arthur who legit seems like a gangster in the middle ages. The film has a unique perspective on magic, war and the overall direction of the film. Director Guy Richie isn’t holding back when it comes to being one-of-a-kind, and for that I thank him. I wasn’t overly enthusiastic about this film when I heard about it, but after watching the trailer I’m beyond interested. I plan on seeing this in theatres for sure, if not for the giant elephants and camera shots alone. For once, I don’t know how King Arthur’s story will play out. Plus, Jude Law, Eric Bana and Djimon Hounsou? Yep, sign me up please.

American Gods


I was someone who was truly devastated when Lincoln was killed in The 100. And while I know that the show is known for killing off main characters like it’s nothing (while not as common as in other shows like The Walking Dead or Game of Thrones), it still hurts. But my spirits were lifted when I heard that Lincoln aka Ricky Whittle was cast to star on the Starz adaptation of Neil Gaiman’s dark fantasy novel “American Gods”. This looks like a dark mind trip down the rabbit hole that’s seriously making me consider taking the red pill. This is a world that plays with the idea of the existence of gods and mythological creatures wandering around causing havoc. But, plot twist, there’s a new type of ‘god’ on the streets that perfectly reflect our obsession with celebs, media and technology. And now, it’s an all out war; colour me intrigued.

Vikings


Holy hell! Vikings is a show that I’ve been dying to come back, and thank the 6 gods it’s finally happening! If this trailer’s any indication for what’s in store…let’s just say shit’s getting real. It looks like the season is going to bring Ragnar Lothbrok’s kids into focus, as we all know that we’re coming down to the end of the Viking king. For those of you that don’t know you’re history, when you see a pit full of snakes, run! I think this season’s going to look at the legendary rise of Bjorn and Ivar “the Boneless” who was considered to be the wisest son of Ragnar and a true conqueror. It looks like Vikings is going to turn him into somewhat of a sadistic badass, which I’m total on board with watching. I may just be the most excited for this trailer! Plus, I think it’s safe to say that Rollo’s probably going to die this season, but hey, at least it looks like Lagertha and Ragnar will FINALLY get back together (about damn time!).

Kong: Skull Island


Man vs animal. While most people didn’t enjoy the King Kong remake directed by Peter Jackson in 2005 staring Naomi Watts, Jack Black (randomly) and Adrien Brody, I didn’t mind it. But this film looks like more fun, and I’d be willing to bet that it’s a set up for Kong versus Godzilla – cause you know that’s going to happen after the Godzilla film back in 2014 with Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Ken Watanabe and Bryan Cranston. This film has literally made Kong a giant who’s not about that humans taking over the wild life thing, and I’m down to watch him tear them apart. It’ll be fun for sure! Plus Loki and Nick Fury are fighting on the same team, and this time with Captain Marvel so you know, Marvel cinematic world bonus!

All in all, we’ve got a pretty exciting 2 years ahead of us! Plus, bonus points: Ghost Rider is going to be in the new season of Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D! #Winning

10 thoughts on “All The Comic Con Trailers I Geeked Out To

Leave a Reply

