Nerdgasm

Suicide Squad Movie Review

Over the weekend I went to see Suicide Squad, a DC film that I’ve been very excited for. Especially after the train wreck that was Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice. And ps, major spoilers below!

Suicide Squad was an interesting premise back in the comics. They were the Task Force X founded by the ruthless Amanda Waller, a DC villain – or antihero depending on who you ask – that is one of my all time favourite characters. Waller decided to create the Suicide Squad full of criminals and bad guys that she controls by placing bombs in their heads. She does this because she doesn’t believe the world should depend on the Justice League. Arguing that they have too much power, so she wanted to find a way to take them down.

In this film, Waller wants to use metahumans to serve and protect now that Superman is presumably dead, due to the results of the Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice film. This squad consists of Deadshot, Harley Quinn, Diablo, Killer Croc, Enchantress, Katana, and Boomerang, all under the unwilling supervision of Rick Flag.

When I fist found out about the cast, I was surprised Enchantress was to be included over Killer Frost, because Enchantress is after all an incredibly unstable character. So it came as no surprise to me that the made her and her brother the bad guy that they squad would have to fight against. She was a pretty cool character until she became a CGI mess. And she kept wiggling all the time, I dunno why but that drove me nuts. I couldn’t concentrate with all her movement, it was so odd. I liked her much better when she was all creepy and looked like Gollum from the Lord of The Rings covered in black gooey-ness.

Will Smith was perfect as Deadshot, but then again he’s an amazing actor. I mean, he is Will Smith after all, so they really couldn’t have gone wrong with him. Jay Hernandez played Diablo, and I have to say he was a standout character. After killing his family, Diablo wasn’t down to be a pawn in Waller’s game. He was a sympathetic character that you couldn’t help but root for. The entire movie I was waiting for Diablo to take on the spirit of an Aztec god-emperor, allowing him to look like the Lazarus Lane Diablo. However when it happened at the end of the film it was less then epic. In fact, every time something supposedly epic happened in the film it just fell flat. Nothing had that intense push in the film. Not when Diablo used his powers, not when Waller killed all those people, not when Deadshot saved Rick Flag and his team, nothing. The only time I felt something was whenever Enchantress would show up…until she was CGI of course.

Waller was perfectly cast with Viola Davis, I mean the lady’s an Academy Award winner, so we all knew she’d do an amazing job. Special shot out goes to Jai Courtney as Boomerang, he killed it! Boomerang is pretty much a loser in the comic. He’s an embarrassing villain that never gets his time to shine against The Flash. Well, let me tell you, Courtney’s portrayal of the character will quickly turn him into one of your fave characters in the film hands down. I know many people give Jai Courtney a tough time for his recent roles, but he’ll always have a special place in my heart from playing Varro in Spartacus. And in this film, he simply killed it.

Speaking of killing it, Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn…Yahtzee!! Robbie was absolute perfection. And let’s be serious here, this was clearly a Harley Quinn and Deadshot film with some extras on the side. How often does a film so perfectly cast a superhero character? It’s not everyday we get a Hugh Jackman as Wolverine or Robert Downey Jr. as Iron Man situation, but we did with this film. This was the first time Harley was given a live action role in a film, and they found the perfect actress, bravo Margot Robbie. I’m glad DC at least got her casting right (I’m looking at you, the sure to be shitty Wonder Woman film).

Jared Leto as The Joker. This is one iconic role that is difficult to live up to, especially after Heath Ledger’s Oscar Winning performance in Christopher Nolan’s Dark Knight trilogy. But Leto did a good job at making the role his own. This version of The Joker, while clearly insane, was a straight up gangster, a man with a plan, and had his own crew of loyal followers. He was menacing and calculating, but his goal wasn’t to cause anarchy, and for once his story wasn’t all about his relationship with Batman. Instead it was on his relationship with Harley. I saw a meme that called Leto’s Joker a gangster, Ledger’s Joker an anarchist, Jack Nicholson’s Joker as the clown, and Mark Hamill’s Joker as the one true Joker since he is arguably the BEST Joker out there. I thought this perfectly explained their depictions of the character.

I’m not sure how I felt about Harley and The Joker’s relationship. While they did touch on how sick and deadly loving someone like Mr. J was for Harley (as he clearly tortured her to insanity – which I predicted from the trailer here), after he jumped into the acid to save her they were a somewhat normal couple…I mean as normal as those two can be. In the comic, their relationship is sadistic and abusive, both mentally and physically. There’s only one person The Joker cares about, and that’s Batman. He uses and abuses Harley, but can’t seem to let her go. He enjoys her pain and abuses her loyalty. While I’m glad we didn’t have to watch the extent of their awful relationship unfold, I find it wrong that I’m seeing all these little kiddies out there saying their relationship is “goals”. Good Lord, that’s how you know someone knows nothing about the source material of a comic film they’re watching. Trust me guys, they are not goals. They are a tragedy.

I also wasn’t a big fan on how they transformed The Joker into just being a love sick puppy. While I’m glad Harley was in the forefront of the film, it was too strange seeing The Joker as nothing more than her lap dog to some extent…but hey, maybe that’s poetic justice for how bad comic book Joker treats Harley.

I enjoyed the cameos of The Flash and Batman/Bruce Wayne. Especially the after credit scene of Amanda giving Bruce the information for him to begin his little Justice League initiative (for my thoughts on the Justice League trailer/film click here).

Over all, I thought the film was entertaining. The pacing was a bit of a mess and the story line was stupid. But the characters were perfectly cast and engaging. I wish there was more of The Joker and Harley, but I’m willing to wait for the extended cut to be released. I think Suicide Squad was trying to be like Marvel’s Guardians of The Galaxy, and while I enjoyed the film purely for bringing some of my fave DC characters to life, I don’t think it was as good as Guardians. DC is far superior to Marvel, except with films, Marvel has that one in the bag. And I don’t think DC will ever catch up, no matter how enjoyable this film was, it still wasn’t that good. And after Batman vs Superman: Dawn of Justice being so horrible and the disappointing vibe I’m getting from the Wonder Woman film and the Justice League film, I think DC should just stop. That, or get better writers.

What did you think of the Suicide Squad film?

3 thoughts on “Suicide Squad Movie Review

Leave a Reply

