Nerdgasm

Resident Evil: The Final Chapter

I can’t even lie. I’m excited. Resident Evil is a serious guilty pleasure of mine, and I’m not afraid to admit it.

Resident Evil began as a horror film loosely based off of the Resident Evil video games. And while the first film did relatively well, the others were less than successful at the box office. However, that didn’t stop me from time and time again lining up at the theatres to see what new adventure saw Alice (played by Milla Jovovich) face with new bad guys as she killed zombies and dealt with having insane telekinesis powers while being an over all bad ass.

This film’s going to be the long awaited final chapter, and while I know most people are glad to see it end, I’m pretty upset. The film’s bringing back Ali Larter’s character Claire Redfield, Dr. Alexander Isaacs and Mr. sunglasses himself, Albert Wesker (both of whom I’m pretty sure died, but at this point who really cares?). The film’s also introducing new characters, one of which will be Abigail portrayed by Ruby Rose, looks like homegirl’s getting a lot of roles as of late.

The film is taking Alice back to where it all started in Raccoon City, which I guess makes sense having the series come around full circle. The only flaw I have with this film so far, is that I enjoyed how Resident Evil: Retribution (the film before this upcoming one) brought back many original characters such as Michelle Rodriguez, Sienna Guillory and Oded Fehr. To me, that just seems like a nice ending to the Resident Evil series. So while I’m excited that we’ve got another one coming, I almost wish it ended with all those characters.

What do you think of the Resident Evil: The Final Chapter trailer? Will you watch the film when it comes out?

One thought on “Resident Evil: The Final Chapter

Leave a Reply

