My Little Universe

Most Empowering Quotes in 2016 Made By Women

2016 has been one hell of a ride. I had some pretty amazing things happen to me and some awful things happen to me. Unfortunately, this year had a disappointing ending with the election of Donald Trump, setting feminism back to the stone ages. So I thought we’d end the year with a celebration of women!

Hilary Clinton

“I know we have still not shatter that highest and hardest glass ceiling, but someday, someone will – and hopefully sooner than we might think right now. And to all of the little girls who are watching this, never doubt that you are valuable and powerful and deserving of every chance and opportunity in the world to pursue and achieve your own dreams”

Jennifer Aniston

“We are complete with or without a mate, with or without a child. We get to decide for ourselves what is beautiful when it comes to our bodies. That decision is ours and ours alone.”

Madonna

“Women have been so oppressed for so long, they believe what men have to say about them…As women, we have to start appreciating our own worth and each other’s worth.”

Laverne Cox

“A to of people thing ‘If this undocumented immigrant gets a job they’re taking it from me.’ Or ‘If this transgender person is able to have equal rights and access then they’re taking something from me.’ It’s a scarcity narrative. If we can move from scarcity to abundance in our rhetoric, that will allow us to begin to believe that there’s enough to go around. We can live in this world together because there is enough to go around.”

Ashley Graham

“People come on my page and body shame me because I’m too big, because I’m too small, because I’m not good enough for their standards. But at the end of the day, I’m good enough for me.”

Michelle Obama

“Our greatness has never, ever come from sitting back and feeling entitled to what we have. It’s never come from folks who climb the ladder of success, or who happen to be born near the top and then pull that ladder up after themselves. No, our greatness has always come from people who expect nothing and take nothing for granted — folks who work hard for what they have then reach back and help others after them.”

Emma Watson

“If men don’t have to be aggressive in order to be accepted, women won’t feel compelled to be submissive. If men don’t have to control, women won’t have to be controlled.”

Check out the original post at Marie Claire here. And happy New Year to you all ❤

Leave a Reply

